How Long Do You Have to Report a Vehicle Accident in Colorado?

You must report a vehicle accident in Colorado within 60 days. In Colorado, a vehicle accident occurs anytime a collision results in property damage or injury to a person.

Minor accidents may not require police intervention. However, a police report is vital documentation to protect your legal rights in the event of a property damage dispute or personal injury claim.

Read the following to learn more about Colorado’s vehicle accident reporting requirements. If you suffered injuries in a Denver car accident, an experienced personal injury attorney can review your claim at no cost.

How Long Do You Have to Report a Vehicle Accident in Colorado?

Colorado’s Accident Reporting Law

Colorado Revised Statute Section 42-4-1606 (2022) states that the driver of a vehicle involved in a traffic accident resulting in injury to, serious bodily injury to, or death of any person or any property damage shall:

 “give immediate notice of the location of such accident and such other information as is specified in section 42-4-1603 (2) to the nearest office of the duly authorized police authority and, if so directed by the police authority, shall immediately return to and remain at the scene of the accident until said police have arrived at the scene and completed their investigation thereat.”

Colorado’s law is apparent. While you may leave the scene of an accident to report a car accident, you must return to the scene to wait for the police to arrive.

Failure to Report a Vehicle Accident in Colorado

Disregarding Colorado’s accident reporting law is breaking the law. There are criminal consequences for not reporting an accident and leaving the scene of a vehicle accident.

Failure to report a vehicle accident is a class two misdemeanor offense. A class two misdemeanor carries a jail sentence of up to 90 days and a fine of up to $300. 

There are much more severe penalties for failure to report vehicle accidents involving injuries and death. Neglecting to report a vehicle accident can also compromise a personal injury claim for compensation.

When is a Police Report not Required?

In Colorado, the police are not required to generate a police report for non-injury vehicle accidents where the damages appear to be less than $1,000. There is an exception if a party lacks proof of car insurance.

You may still request a report on a non-qualifying accident. 

What If the Police Do Not or Cannot Respond?

In weather emergencies, the police may not respond to all accident scenes. You may have the choice of filing an accident report at the police station at another time or submitting your report online through the Colorado Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles. 

Again, you must follow the accident reporting law and make your report within 60 days from the collision date. Filing your report online allows you to document your accident for a future legal claim.

Contact an Experienced Denver Vehicle Accident Attorney for More Information

It is expected to have questions and feel overwhelmed by legal issues after a vehicle accident. The best way to confidently move ahead is to speak with an experienced Denver vehicle accident attorney at Dulin McQuinn Young.

Dulin McQuinn Young is a Denver personal injury firm dedicated to representing accident victims. Our firm was built by aggressive trial attorneys who take the fight to large insurance companies and dangerous drivers across Colorado.

Meet with a vehicle accident attorney at Dulin McQuinn Young risk-free. Contact our professional team in Denver at (303) 246-1111 to schedule your complimentary claim review.

Dulin McQuinn Young Wins 2nd Largest Premises Liability Verdict in Douglas County, CO READ MORE