Does Your Car Insurance Go Up After a Car Accident?

Whether your auto insurance costs go up after a Colorado car accident depends on who was at fault. Colorado law prohibits insurers from increasing insurance premiums following a car accident that is not the fault of the “insurance applicant, insured, household member, or permissive user.” 

An insurer may not remove any discounts from a policy like safe driver discounts or good student discounts from a policy when an accident was not the policyholder or approved operator’s fault. Ultimately, no action may be taken against your insurance policy if you report an accident with your insurer and file a personal injury claim with the liable party’s insurance company. 

Does Your Car Insurance Go Up After A Car Accident

What If I Am Partially at Fault for the Car Accident?

This does not hold true if an investigation reveals you shared responsibility for the car accident. If you were partially to blame for your car accident, your insurance company could take adverse action against you, including increasing your premiums or dropping you from your policy altogether.  

Are There Other Reasons an Insurer May Increase My Premiums Following a Car Accident?

An insurer may increase your premiums following an accident for legitimate reasons such as a history of accidents. An accident record could categorize you as a high-risk driver. 

Your insurance rates could also fluctuate due to natural disasters in the geographic area where you live or an increase in the number of car accident claims reported in your area.

Proving Fault is Crucial After a Colorado Car Accident

Proving fault is crucial following a Colorado car accident for an accident victim. Both their insurance coverage and accident-related damages could be drastically affected by their shared percentage of responsibility for an accident.

Colorado follows the comparative negligence system. Under the comparative negligence system, a car accident victim who is found more than 50% at fault for their accident-related injuries may not recover compensation for their losses.

A car accident victim who is less than 50% responsible for their injuries will have any damages award reduced by their percentage of fault. 

For example:

  • A car accident victim is found 30% at fault for their accident;
  • That victim is awarded $100,000 in damages;
  • Their damages awarded will be reduced by 30% or $30,000; and
  • The victim is left with a damages award of $70,000.

Insurance companies will not readily accept blame for serious car accidents. Instead, they will thoroughly investigate an accident and collect evidence in the hopes of shifting accident fault to the victim or avoiding blame for the accident altogether.

It is wise to contact an experienced Denver car accident attorney immediately after an accident. This is the best time to establish accident responsibility through evidence collection and investigation.

Contact an Experienced Denver Car Accident Attorney Today

If you or your loved one suffered injuries in a car accident, do not risk being blamed for part or all of the accident. Call the experienced car accident attorney at Dulin McQuinn Young right away!

Dulin McQuinn Young has fought for the injured in Colorado for over two decades. We have a track record of success and client victories!

Schedule your complimentary consultation with a skilled car accident attorney today by calling (303) 246-1111!

 

Dulin McQuinn Young Wins 2nd Largest Premises Liability Verdict in Douglas County, CO READ MORE